Silver Sands

silver_sands_shells_2, originally uploaded by H.Conley.

Ever since I was a child spending summers on Cape Cod at Red River Beach, I have collected and been fascinated by shells. Last year I discovered the Silver Sands beach in Milford, CT and down the road, in the same town, is an Audubon coastal bird center with a beach full of AMAZING shells and bird life.

The oyster shells are like works of art, tiny sculptures scattered in the sand. There are more shells there than sand in fact! I could have stayed there with my macro lens taking many more images, but I was not alone that day and my “assistant” was growing impatient!

To see more images from that visit: http://www.flickr.com/photos/heaconley/sets/72157619291529354/show/

Leave a Reply

